Williams: “It was something I never would have said I’d get at the beginning of any season!”

JHP72236

Following Gillingham’s final game of the season against Old Actonians last week, we had the great privilege of catching up with Gillingham Ladies captain Lauren Williams. Just as she accepted her Goal of the Season award after public vote had deemed her strike against Luton Town LFC the winner of this season poll, Williams expressed her delighted that her goal had won;

“I was very surprised to win the Goal of the Season award. It was something I never would have said I’d get at the beginning of any season! So I am very honoured and thankful that so many people voted for me.”

The final winning tally for the defender was 279 votes of the 1054 cast, raking in 26.5% of the vote. Holding off competition from 6 other team mates to collect the award,

“It’s absolutely unbelievable and something, like I’ve said before, that I’d never have imagined to happen. A huge thank you goes out to everybody that took the time to vote for me. The support has been amazing and it is something I will never forget.”

Williams was full of credit for her fellow team mates who had made the final shortlist for Goal of the Season, and that each goal nominated could have taken the credit and accolade. Williams gave thanks to the assist for the winning goal, as it came from Emma Tune who took second place in the online poll;

“To be honest any one of those goals could have won and it would have been the right decision. I personally think there are better goals than mine but yes to be shortlisted amongst the talent and quality that there was on show was special and something I’ll always be very proud of.”

“The girls know how highly I think of them all and I really would have been over the moon if any one of them won. Tuney actually set me up for my goal so a big thank you to her for, as always, being selfless. All the girls showed real class and quality with their goals so girls well done, keep up the hard work and hopefully see you in the same competition next year!”

The excitement of scoring such a creditable goal is not far from obvious in the captain’s celebration, we had to ask William’s to take a moment to explain the delight as she explains she coped a bit of flack the previous week from the manager;

“Haha…I can take no blame for my actions after I score a goal. It hardly ever happens so when I do score I think I get a little over excited! Jack hammered me the week before for losing a ball in a similar area to the one I was in, so this time I was very happy I managed to find the back of the net; as you can see in the video!”

JHP72231

Gillingham signed off the FA WPL campaign last week with a win over Old Actonians, Gills secured a second place finish behind Crystal Palace. Within days Gills are already looking ahead to next season with Open Trials planned to assess new players and the first few pre season fixtures in the diary. Williams looks ahead to the new kick off with some high ambitions for the next season;

“Of course! We have lots of new plans for pre season and are aiming to work as hard as we possibly can in the upcoming season. We obviously have a main aim of promotion however we will treat it exactly the same and take each week as it comes. We have a fantastic bunch of girls who are all willing to put in the graft and commitment to get where we want to be.”

Leave a Reply

