Birthday Girl Redhouse Delighted With Day’s Work

CL-MHmqWcAEC0ekThree points, a player of the match award and a goal; Sunday proved a birthday to remember for Gills’ Shannon Redhouse. After an accomplished second half performance Gillingham Ladies extended their winning streak to three games and Redhouse filled us in with her thoughts after the game.

Assessing the teams performance away at Old Anctonians, Redhouse said: “I’m really pleased overall, its always nice to score especially as it was my birthday!”

“The team worked hard for each other and I think our fitness showed through especially in the second half.”

Redhouse talked us through her goal which opened the game’s account in the opening five minutes of the fixture.

“I received the ball out wide on the right, started to drive forward and then cut inside my player, looked up and thought I’d have a shot with my left foot. Luckily it went over the keeper into the far corner, I was well pleased!”

The strike was subsequently followed by goals from striker Kallie Balfour and Rachel Ahern. Three more valuable points secured for the club on the road and Redhouse revealed the mood amongst the team is buoyant.

“There is a great feel around the club at the moment. It’s a great bunch of girls to be playing with. We work hard for each other and get on really and the positivity shows when we play.”

“I think we are capable of beating anyone on the day, so we have just got to continue working hard. I must also say a big thank you to all the support staff, management and people who come to watch us.”

“It’s a really good vibe around the club at the moment like I say and I’m just really happy to be involved.”

Redhouse added, “I’m absolutely loving my time back at Gillingham. I feel like I have come home. I was connected with the Centre Of Excellence for seven years, had a year or two away from the club but it’s fantastic to be back with great management and a great bunch of girls.”

It’s another tough away fixture for Gills next Sunday as they travel to second place Luton Town, who have enjoyed a brilliant start to the season. It is a challenge however, Redhouse is ready for…

“It’s always nice to win games and it was thoroughly deserved against Old Actonians. We will take one game at a time but the girls are confident and know what we can achieve. Bring on the next game.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

