Cavengh enjoys first team call up

It’s been a good week for Gillingham FC’s Centre of Excellence. With academy students Lydia Wills and Maddison North making their debuts for the first team, there was another young talent from the club’s centre who impressed manager Simon Ratcliffe with her performance in the Kent Women’s Cup.

Chloe Two

Seventeen year old Chloe Cavengh graduated through the ranks at Gills Centre and having been handed game time in previous rounds, including Gills triumphant win at Parkwood Rangers, the forward relished being part of the set up once more.

“It was my first time starting for the first team.” Chloe revealed, “It was a big step up but I felt I handled it well. I thought I made a few mistakes but overall I did as well as I can and that’s all you can ask for.”

Chloe found the experience beneficial, especially the opportunity to play up front with experience players such as Lauren Phillips and Ashlee Hincks who’ve already won the competition with Gillingham Ladies before.

Chloe Three

“The first team players are older and have more experience and you can see that on the pitch. The girls were really good, they kept encouraging me and kept me going throughout the game. I felt I learnt a lot from them.”

Reflecting on a good afternoon, Chloe was happy for the team to enjoy some success. “It’s brilliant to make the cup final. It’s really good to get into any final and the experience is good for the team. Fingers crossed we can make it two in the Ryman League Cup final too.”

Manager Simon Ratcliffe was particularly pleased with Chloe who’s enjoying her first season in senior women’s football.

Chloe One

He said: “I thought Chloe did very well on Sunday. She retained the ball and showed good composure. It would have been nice for her to get a goal but sadly that didn’t quite happen. I’m really, really pleased with her.”

Leave a Reply

