Crinean delighted with cup hat-trick

Gills Ladies striker Natalie Crinean was delighted to help her team to an 8-0 victory bagging herself a hat-trick to boot.

JHP_0088

“We did well as a team today” said Crinean, “We knew it would be back to basics so we wanted to get the ball on the floor and play some decent football”

Crinean admitted the goals came at a good point and will help to build her confidence as she regains match-day sharpness: “Goals have been a bit dry lately, so these matches are always good for opportunities to score but you need to be clinical. If you looked at my ratio today I probably had more shots than goals but you need to take your chances.”

Momentum is key for Crinean, who admitted the chance to bag a win in the Cup will hopefully help the girls as they look to pick up their form in the league, “Losing becomes a habit and the game came at a good time for us. We’ve got another good game to run into next week which we are confident we can win if we stick in a performance like this afternoon.”

Crinean wants to use the buzz around the team from Sunday’s win to help her goal-scoring form. “Momentum forces a habit, if I score I want to keep on scoring. I just want to keep pushing on forwards.”

“I’ve been on the bench recently so today it was important to get a good 90 minutes under my belt. It’s important no matter who we are playing, we get a good result and today was a good run out for me.”

“I got a couple of goals against Copsewood last time we played them, I’m confident they’ll be chances to get some more and I’m looking forward to it.”

Leave a Reply

