“It’s a great confidence boost” Emma Tune celebrates goal scoring form

"I'm happy we're continuing to play well and win but there is something special about getting on the scoresheet."

“I’m happy we’re continuing to play well and win but there is something special about getting on the scoresheet.”

Emma Tune continued October’s great scoring form into November, gathering a brace against Tottenham Hotspur on Sunday to make it four goals in three games for the Gills midfield. We caught up with Emma after Sunday’s victory.

Firstly, we asked Emma how it felt to be enjoying such a fine run of goalscoring form: “It’s really good, I’m happy we’re continuing to play well and win but there is something special about getting on the scoresheet.”

Emma went on to talk us through her two goals: ” For the first, I was on the edge of the box and it was a good side foot finish but the second was all about the set and great build up play.”

“Charlotte Gurr played the ball up well for me and if she hadn’t I wouldn’t have been able to hit it first time, so that was great.”

“We started off quite slow” Emma confessed, “and I think we were a bit nervy to start with.”

“But as everyone could see, in the second half, once we got the third goal we could relax and we started to play how we know we can. Obviously, we need to start doing that from the start of games.”

And we asked Emma how she’s enjoying the freedom to press forward in attack with Gills continuing to dominate matches: “I’ve never really got forward as much as I am at the moment, getting into the box and being in the box has helped me get these goals.”

“It’s good and I do prefer that side of my game and the manager is pushing me to go forward so my attacking game has improved.”

Whilst the girls are performing well as a collective unit, Emma agreed that her personal contribution is great for boosting her confidence on the pitch: “It helps your confidence; today I had two shots and got two goals which doesn’t happen to me much so it was a great bonus and I’m very happy! But as long as the team’s doing well, I’m happy.”

“I just want to keep playing well as part of the team, and I’m looking for us to win the league. Personally, I want to keep scoring goals, I want to get double figures by the end of the season.”

Focus moves towards this Sunday’s game against Brighton and it’s one Emma is looking forward to: “It’s always a good match between us and Brighton so it will be interesting.”

“It’s a cup game so we’ll be able to see what they’re like and hopefully we’ll be able to get another win and set us up for the league.”

In the meantime, Emma reiterates how much she’s enjoying life at Gillingham Ladies: “The vibe around the club is brilliant; the girls all get on, the coaching management too and I’m happy with my football at the moment.”

“And there’s lots going on off the pitch too with the fundraising events, so hopefully things can keep going forward.”

Leave a Reply

