“I’m just loving being here”. Gills loanee Fliss Gibbons gets life at Gills off to the perfect start

Gibbons_HeaderGillingham Ladies were pleased to announce the signing of England Under 19 International Fliss Gibbons just before the match against Chesham Ladies. On loan from Watford Ladies, we caught up with Gills’ latest recruit as she marked her debut with a stunning goal from 20 yards out.

Fliss certainly made an impression as she came on with 20 minutes to go to help rally the Gills to a 5-0 victory. We asked Fliss how her first game in blue went. “I really loved it” she said, “Obviously it was nice to get on and score but I was more concerned about us getting the three points and the girls worked their socks off throughout the game. They played really well and we got the three points and I guess the goal is just an extra bonus for me.”

And what a goal it was. Turning her marker and releasing the right-footed effort into the top corner, we asked Fliss to recount the moment she opened her Gills account, “I didn’t really think about it to be honest. The gaffer had said to me to get in and around the box and if I had the opportunity to have a go to do it. I just turned and thought it’s worth a shot so I took the chance and it went into the bottom corner. So I wasn’t really thinking about it, just doing what I was told really!”

Fliss makes the loan move from parent club Watford and we asked more about what brought her to Gillingham Ladies. “I’m here on loan because my season at Watford doesn’t start until next April so my pre season won’t start until after Christmas.”

“I wanted to come here to keep fit and came along to Gillingham because it’s local. I didn’t really know too much about the club to start with and I knew of a few girls in the team from previous seasons and stuff so I came along to training and it’s a great set up here.”

“The girls work really hard and they all work hard for each other at training and there’s a great atmosphere around the place as well. The management also get on really well with the girls and it’s a really good place for me to improve my fitness and enjoy my football. I’m really glad I made the move here.”

But Fliss is very clear that her ambitions for her spell at Gillingham lie further than building her fitness; “I want to get the fitness but I haven’t just joined the Gills for that. I want to do well for the girls and help them get the three points every week when I can.”

“Fitness will come with that as training is always high intensity and the attitude from the girls means we’re always working hard. James also encourages us to work hard. I hope I can go back to Watford in good shape, fitter and sharper which will be nice and obviously if I can help the girls get some great results along the way that would be excellent.”

Despite getting on the score sheet minutes into her debut, Fliss told us it was really enjoyable to get off the mark on her first appearance. “I got put on as a centre forward today but I haven’t actually played there for a while. I like to run at defenders and get on goal whenever I can. I like to get on the score sheet, which I haven’t done in a while so it was nice today as I like to get goals. “

“I like to get the ball to feet so when I can get inside and do that, either to set it off to one of the midfielders or bring others into play, I enjoy that. I don’t think I’m a selfish player so it’s nice to do that and enjoy how I play and create more chances. I think if you create chances you’re going to get more goals and goals wins games, which is the most important thing for me.”

And Fliss’ recent international experience will bring a fantastic edge to the Gills Ladies set up. We asked Fliss how she enjoyed representing her country in the very recent European tournament.  “I’ve just got back from Wales as I was there with the England Under 19 internationals. I made my debut out there and it was nice to be involved in the set up, it’s very professional and the coaches are great.”

“Not many girls can say they’ve been to a European final and I feel really lucky to have done that. We got to the final where we unfortunately lost to France but what I’ve gained and learned is really important to me and it makes me hungry. I want to be there again. We’ve qualified for the World Cup next year and I want to be involved in that. It makes me want to go out and work hard.”

And already the club is focused on the next challenge to work towards; the local fixture against rivals Charlton Athletic. A rivalry Fliss is all too familiar with.  “I used to play for Charlton so I know all about the huge rivalry and I know the majority of the team because I’ve only been at Watford for a season.”

“I know the rivalry and I know how important it is for the team so clearly I’m going to go out there and give it my absolute everything, I want to do it for the girls and get the three points.”

“It’s just another game. We play the game not the occasion and I think with the way we played today, we don’t fear any team. The way we’re playing we will go in their confident we can get the three points.”

Meanwhile, Assistant Manager Jack Wheeler was full of praise for Gills Ladies debutant, although he did confess to missing her open her account for the club. “I was dealing with one of the substitutes at the time and when I turned around I saw the ball in the back of the net!”

“I had to ask Marrsy who scored. When I found out it was Fliss, I was really pleased- it’s not a bad way to start your account! It’s nice for her to get in and have that start. I think she’s come into the club and see how professionally we run things here and she’s taken it on board which is really pleasing to see.”

“When she’s come in for training already she’s been really professional and worked really hard. At the training sessions on Tuesdays and Thursdays we’ve beasted them with the runnings and stuff like that and all their attitudes have been spot on. With Fliss today, she’s got out there and worked really hard. She’s done everything we’ve asked of her and there’s nothing more we could have asked of her.”

Fliss Gibbons 1314

“I’m just loving being here.” Fliss concluded. “Like I said all I really knew of the club, and the opinion I had was from what I gathered from Charlton.”

“I’m really happy to be here and it’s the exact place I need to be. Somewhere that’s going to work me hard, keep me fit and somewhere where I’m with players who want to win. They want to win for each other until the last minute, which is the most important thing, and it’s great to be involved. I’ve only been here a week but I know I’m going to love it.”

And if performances continue in the same vain as her 20 minutes against Chesham, Gills Ladies fans will be loving life at the club as much as Fliss herself.

Leave a Reply

